What’s in your Vintage Cookie Jars?


Strange question?

I think not!  It would be strange to think that people actually keep cookies in their antique cookie jars.  Not for the reasons you might imagine though.

Not because of their strange smells.

Not because of the possible lead contamination.  *eeewwhha*

Not because you might break it.

Whatever your reason, mine is probably the most common and the least admitted….

Because I ate them all!!!

Typically, if a jar is near by, depending on the time of year, my cookie jars might contain various items.  Receipts, change (never paper money) seriously!  Buttons, tiny broken off toy parts, matches, ticket stubs, golf ball?  Let’s see…I’m sure that I’ve forgotten to mention some of the strange things I have found in my jars. Oh!  yes…dust!

But never cookies.

Soooo…if I did keep cookies in my “Smiling Rabbit” dressed as a chef, what kind would I keep in there?  Probably home baked chocolate chip.  You know the Nestle Toll House kind?  Yummo!

My sweet Rabbit Cookie Jar was  made by Brush Pottery, of Zanesville, Ohio, in the 1950’s.  As far as cookie jars go, he’s large scale.  A whopping 13″ tall, ears and all.  And I’ve been told he looks a little devious.  Probably because he just licked all of the cookie dough off of his bowl and spoon.

chocolate chip cookie dough is the best!

chocolate chip cookie dough is the best!

Brush Pottery Co. at one time was partnered with McCoy in Ohio until 1925. After which Brush Pottery Co. continued to make wonderful designs and were known for their well made, heavy pottery with beautiful colors. Many Brush cookie jars as with my Smiley Chef Rabbit design, were sculpted by Don Winton of  Twin Winton.  The Winton Brothers were know for their whimsical designs.   I have seen this design as a white rabbit too.

Distinctive marks are found as “W25 USA” on bottom of jars.

Brush Cookie Jars will add character, charm and whimsy to any pottery collection.  I’ve been known to spot a Brush Cookie Jar from across the room.  I believe they are very distinctive in their coloring and style.  Very detailed and moderately heavy.  You can definitely tell the difference between vintage and the new jars of today as far as weight.

So if your a serious vintage cookie jar collector or if your new to this obsession passion…there are a few things to look out for when buying vintage cookie jars, especially online.

You will want to check for the mark on the bottom of the jar.  Mark “USA” , W25 USA, W32USA…etc.

The weight and height are also proof of authenticity.  Newer jars are lighter and in some cases smaller.

Check for cracks and chips.  A reputable seller will disclose any flaws.  For example, the jar shown about does have a chip in the lid and you can see it on the lower right side of the rabbit’s jacket.  Flaws would include chips, cracks, grease stains.  If cold painting is applied you will want to take notice if still in tact.  Cold painting is a process in which the paint is applied after the firing process.  Therefore, if not cleaned properly, it will wash off.  All of these flaws if present will lower the value of a jar.  Ultimately it will be up to you to decide what you want to buy, with or with out flaws.  Crazing, fine spidery cracks in the glaze is pretty typical with older jars and in my opinion, just adds character to the jar.  Again this is up to you to decide if you can live with it, but I don’t consider crazing as a flaw.   Also, the luster of the glaze.  Has it retained it’s luster?

Do your research, keep an open line off communication with the person you’re buying from.  Again, if reputable the seller won’t mind answering all of your questions.   I would love to hear from you!  What is your favorite cookie jar?  What will you keep in yours?

My Smiling Chef Rabbit is available for purchase at my Etsy store,  Muggsey & Mae.

Interview with Don & Norma Winton: http://collectibles.about.com/library/weekly/aa041000a.htm

Collecting Winton Designs: http://collectibles.about.com/od/collectorprofiles/tp/aboutdonwinton.htm

Collective Articles about Twin Winton: http://collectibles.about.com/lr/twin_winton/625314/2/

History of Brush/McCoy: http://www.mccoypotterycollectorssociety.org/brush.htm

BloggerFlickrTwitterFacebook
4 thoughts on “What’s in your Vintage Cookie Jars?

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Pingback: New Vintage Reviews Carnival, 7th Edition : Kitsch-Slapped

  3. Pingback: Proper Care & Cleaning of Your Vintage Cookie Jars « Muggsey & Mae Vintage Collectibles

Leave a Reply

